CTE Counselor

C. Harris             Moore

Mrs. Cindy Harris - CTE Counselor            Mrs. Josie Moore - Student Services

 

Everything you need to know about LACHS (Life After Columbus High School).

General Information

Social Security Administration--http://www.ssa.gov/ Selective Service--http://www.sss.gov/
Student Gateway to U.S. Government--http://www.students.gov/ Study Abroad--http://www.studyabroad.com/
U. S. Department of Education--http://www.ed.goc/index.jhtml ACT--http://www.actstudent/org/
AP--http://www.collegeboard.com/studenttesting/ap/about.html SAT--http://www.sat.org/
Also at Magoosh.com /SAT Practice at Magoosh.com
PSAT--http://www.collegeboard.com/studenttesting/psat/about.html

Information for Students

GENERAL INFORMATION
ACCREDITED ONLINE COLLEGES
Colleges in Mississippi--http://www.riseupms.com Mississippi Accredited Online Colleges--http://www.accreditedonlinecolleges.org/mississippi/
ACT Registration--http://www.actstudent.orghttp://www.actstudent.org Accredited Online Degree Programs--http://www.accreditedonlinecolleges.org/degree-programs
The Simple Dollar, a College Scholarship Guide--
http://www.thesimpledollar.com/college-scholarship-guide/
Accredited Online Colleges Guide--http://www.accreditedonlinecolleges.org/guide
This site provides community resources that are centered around higher education in the US.--https://www.collegedegreesonline.com/ View College Program Guides here.--https://www.collegedegreesonline.com/program/business
View Public Service Guides here.--https://www.mastersofpublicadministration.org/program/public-administration

Financial Aid and Scholarship Information

FastWeb's College Gold - https://www.collegegold.org Mapping Your Future--http://www.mapping-your-future.org/
 Federal Student Aid for Students--http://www.studentaid.ed.gov/  Project Scholarship Scam--http://www.ftc,gov/scholarshipscams
 Fin Aid--http://www.finaid.org/  Taxes for Students--http://www.irs.gov/individuals/students
 Scholarship Search--http://.wwwfastweb.com/  Direct Loan, FAFSA (Application for Federal Student Aid)--http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/
Americorps--http"//www.americorps.org/ Direct Loan, FAFSA PIN--http://www.pin.ed.gov
City Year--http://www.cityyear.org/ Resources by State--http://www.finaid.org/otheraid/state.phtml
CSS/PROFILE--http://profileonline.collegeboard.com/ Gates millennium Scholarships for Minorities--http://www.gmsp.org/
United Negro College Fund (Award upon successful completion of the program)--http://www.uncf.org/scholarships/Gatesscholarship.asp Students with Asthma (3.5 GPA and have received an award in one of the arts)http://www.schering-ploughwilltowin.com/favicon.ico--
Burger King (2.5 GPA, community involvement, financial need, work part-time 15 hours week)--http://.wwwbk.com/scholars Own your own business (have at least one employee, enroll in college)--http://www.mckelveyfoundation.org/favicon.ico
Harvard (meet their admission requirements and have household income less than $60,000.--http://www.admissions.college.harvard.edu/ Financial need, minority, physically disabled--http://www.usafunds.org/scholarship
Education Services Foundation (essay required)--http://wwwesfweb/com/ Walmart--http://www.walmartfoundation.org/
AXA --http://www.axa-achievement.com/ National Association of Secondary Principals (Students apply online and submit to the principal at CHS. One is selected.)--http://www.prudential.com/spirit
Wendy's Heisman--http://www.wendysheisman.com/ Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund--http://.wwwthurgoodmarshallfund.org/sk_v6.cfm

College, Career, and Enlistment Information

CollegeNet (College financial Aid Search)--http://www.collegenet.com CollegeView (College finder resource)--http://www.collegeview.com/index.html
APA Style Guide--http://www.apastyle.apa.org/ MLA Style Guide--http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/557/01
Encyclopedia Britannica Online--http://www.britannica.com/ Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary--http//www.m-w.com/
SAT Question of the Day--http://apps.collegeboard.com/qotd/question.do SAT Practice Exams--http://www.testprepreview.com/sat_practice.htm
ACT Practice Exams--http://www.testprepreview.com/act_practice.htm Mississippi Department of Education--http://www.mde.k12.ms.us/
Mississippi Student Financial Aid--http://www.ihl.state.ms.us/financialaid/default.asp FAFSA (Free application for Federal Student Aid)--http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/
SallieMae College Answer (College Planning)--http://www.collegeanswer.com/index.jsp Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning--http://www.ihl.state.ms.us/
Career Planning--http://www.fastweb.com/ Monster (Job Search)--http://www.monster.com/
America's Career Infonet--http://www.acinet.org/ Bureau of labor Statistics--http://www.stats.bis.gov/
Occupational Outlook Handbook--http://www.bls.gov/oco United States Armed Forces--http://www.military.com
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.